Posted by: Beelarge | December 5, 2012

Don’t Stress Out.

The sun is shining – Summer is here!  I could think of worse times to be off work

Making the most of my situation

Making the most of my situation

I’ve had quite a busy week this past week.  I’ve been into my career transition company twice.  I’ve now gotten the results back from my assessment and my cv is ready to send out.  Which is lucky as I was approached by a recruitment company via LinkedIn so off it went.  There doesn’t seem to be too many jobs advertised this time of year, and everyone I talk to suggests there won’t be much available now until closer to the end of January.  My plan is….Don’t Stress Out.

I’ve taken the last couple of weeks off running so this has been the week that I get back down to the beach to start my days.  Soft sand running, sand in the toes, running at the waters edge, yup, I’m doing it tough 🙂

At the beginning of this week I made contact with someone I’d like to work with.  He was stunned by my news and very eager to help me by making an introduction to the Department Manager via LinkedIn.  I’ll continue nudging away here and update as I go along.  I’ve now also met my first recruitment contact too.  Headed into North Sydney, to discuss a possible role that might be suited to me.  The role sounds good, a mix of responsibilities based at Macquarie Park with the opportunity to be working with a customer base that I’m familiar with but….I’m just not ready to take a $15k pay cut just yet, thanks for thinking of me though.

Last night I was catching up with a couple of friends, letting them know my current situation and one of them actually needs a little help setting up a social media presence for their businesses….  I’ll help you with that!!  I’m looking for a little project to do over the holiday season.  Watch this space for updates!!!

Last week I mentioned one of the first things I did was update LinkedIn, lock down facebook and start tweeting from my personal twitter account @beelarge.  I’m so glad I did that because I saw this tweet: RT for a chance to win a double pass to a preview performance of#MariageBlanc at Wharf 2 Theatre this weekend!  http://bit.ly/V3XDpR via @SydneyTheatreCo  – I Retweeted and won!  Woohoooo!  I’m off to the theatre next Wednesday night 🙂

So, that’s my past week.  Two career transition meetings, one recruitment company meeting, two tickets to the theatre, two runs along the beach, two swims in the ocean and little lie downs on the sand, a letter off to someone to let them know I’d love the opportunity to work with them, a possible summer project and my cv is updated and ready to share.

How was your past week?  Have you got any tips for me on other ways I can approach potential work opportunities?  I’d love to hear them if you do.

Thanks

Bridg x

Leave a Reply

Categories

