Posted by: Beelarge | January 7, 2009

A time to reflect

Just wandering

Just wandering

Why is it that I quite like wandering around a Cemetery?  I wanted to go out for a few hours today to take some pictures and asked around for suggestions and was happy to shoot the city until this morning I awoke & it was grey….so, my first thought was to check out a cemetery.  After asking for suggestions again from my twitter followers I headed out to Old Brompton Cemetery.

When I first walked through the doors I was greeted by all the squirrels and birds (crows mainly).  It was mid afternoon so only a few people were about, jogging, cycling through, sitting on the benches or, like me, just wandering around.  It gave me time to be with my thoughts too.  So today I thought I’d shoot using my 1 rule.  1 lens, 1 shot then move on.  This actually makes me think about the shot first, rather than shooting off 20 then editing down to 1 decent one.

Busy Busy

Busy Busy

I loved the layout of this cemetery – I can’t really imagine it looking any better than it did today – a gray day as opposed to a blue sunny day.  My thoughts turned to my family members that have passed.  I was lucky to be born into a young family and am grateful that I remember my Great Grandma & all my grand parents.  I reflected on my first 12 months in London, the challenges I have faced but also the new friendships I’ve made along the way.  I don’t know how many times I’ve said that it’s been tough but it’s also been worth every second.  So today was about putting things to rest so I can start 2009 ‘clear’.

Peace

Peace

Do you do anything unusual to close one door to enable others to open?  Do you have any New Years Resolutions?  I’d love to hear them if you do.

Until next time … Big Bee Love

xx

Responses

  1. […] in the last week I have been on 3!  Last week I headed to Old Brompton Cemetery and wrote about it here.  Then last Saturday I headed into Southbank with a few people that I’ve connected with on […]

  2. […] for a walk and take a few photos.  For some reason I kinda like walking around cemeteries – (previous post).  Nunhead is amazing!  So lush & green with some fabulous lookout spots too.  This is one […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

